Kathy S. Albain, MD, FACP, FASCO is Professor of Medicine (with Tenure) at the Stritch School of Medicine of Loyola University Chicago.  She was named the inaugural Huizenga Family Endowed Chair in Oncology Research in 2017.  She was awarded Loyola’s highest honor, the Stritch Medal, in 2018.

She is a member of the Division of Hematology/Oncology and devotes her clinical practice to patients with breast and lung cancer at Loyola’s Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center. She is Director of its Breast Clinical Research Program, Co-director of the multidisciplinary Breast Oncology Center, and Director of the Thoracic Oncology Program. 

Dr. Albain’s national research and advisory activities have pertained to breast and lung cancers, cancer survivorship, and special populations research.  She chaired the SWOG Committee on Special Populations. She was recognized for over a decade of this work in 2003 with the Susan G. Komen Professor of Survivorship award. Dr. Albain then served as co-chair of the SWOG Cancer Survivorship Committee through 2010.  In 2019 Dr. Albain was appointed Vice Chair of SWOG for Clinical Trials Partnerships.

Dr. Albain is a member of SWOG’s working groups for breast and lung cancer, devoting her career to research in both diseases. She is a member of the international Early Breast Cancer Trialists’ Collaborative Group and its Steering Committee.  She served on the National Cancer Institute Concept Evaluation Panel for lung cancer.  She was a charter member of the NIH Committee on Research on Women’s Health and served on the Oncologic Drugs Advisory Committee of the FDA.  She is site Principal Investigator and New Agents Committee member for the I-SPY 2 early breast cancer research consortium.

She is a summa cum laude graduate of Wheaton College in Wheaton, Illinois, where she majored in chemistry and minored in music and biology. She graduated from the University of Michigan Medical School.  Dr. Albain received postgraduate training in Internal Medicine and Hematology/Oncology at the University of Illinois and University of Chicago, respectively.